Daydreams and Postlude

Written for oboist Jeralee Johnson, Daydreams and Postlude was inspired by Britten’s classic Six Metamorphoses After Ovid as well as by pastoral images such as Franz von Lenbach’s painting “Hirtenknabe.” In four movements, the piece consists of three fantasies — a gnarly tocatta, a rustic dance, and a plaintive chant — and a cantankerous finale. It is, as Dickens would put it, “Woolgathering Killjoyed.”

Instrumentation: oboe
Duration: 10 minutes
Movements: Gordian — Sylvan — Cerulean — Henpecked
Premiere: 3 May 2015 by Jeralee Johnson
Performance History: complete performance list
Score and Ordering: 

Preview  Page 2, Page 4, Page 6
Hard Copy: $15 Buy Now Button
Download from Score Exchange: $10

* Immediate Delivery.

PDF via email: $10 Buy Now Button
Scroll to top
%d bloggers like this: