SKU: WMP-173

Phoenix, for saxophone choir, was inspired by the legendary immortal bird that burns itself to cinders, then rises from its own ashes. It consists of three movements: “Feverish,” “Ashen,” and “Ascendant.”


1. Feverish

2. Ashen

3. Ascendant

Perusal Score: Download

Watch on YouTube: Live Premiere

Full Details: See below!


Program Note:

The legendary bird that rises from its own ashes, the phoenix is a symbol of rebirth and renewal. Each movement of this eponymous piece for saxophone choir represents part of that cycle. The first movement, “Feverish,” begins with delusions of grandeur that become increasingly bizarre until the music self-combusts. The second movement, “Ashen,” plaintively mourns its humble state and yearns for transcendence. The third movement, “Ascendant,” rises from these ashes to become again confident and resplendent.

Year Composed: 2023
Commissioned by: David Mobley, Andrew Vu, and Round Rock (TX) High School Saxophone Choir
Instrumentation: Saxophone choir
Duration: 14 minutes
Difficulty: Grade 5
Premiere: December 21, 2023 at the Midwest Clinic by the Round Rock (TX) High School Saxophone Choir
Performance History: complete performance list
Perusal Score: Download

Additional information

Dimensions N/A

Hard Copy Score + Parts, PDF Score + Parts